Kiln is not reaching cone 6 temperature

elenab

Hello everyone,

I got an old Paragon kiln A81B with a kiln sitter, I fired it for cone 6 and it never reached the right temperature, it was on for 24 hr. Then I tried to fire for cone 4 and it reached the temperature in about 2-3 hours.  Would it be enough to change only one element for cone 6 firing?  Also, because my kiln is outside (I am in Whitby Ontario) would it make difference to fire in warmer temperature ( it was - 5C when kiln was working)?

Thank you so much! ( I am very new to pottery and had never fired kiln before)

Elena

The elements wear together so generally if it needs elements, it needs them all. Firing at cooler temperatures definitely makes a difference but really at zero outdoor temperature that’s on the order of 3-4% change to a kiln firing over 2000f. Yes, very cold especially for humans who live in a very small temperature range but most often does not affect the kiln to a large degree. I don’t want to completely dismiss the outdoor temperature though. As elements wear by about 10% most kilns begin having trouble making top temperature. So on a very cold day and a worn kiln, that 1,2,3 % from the outdoor temperature could add up to be significant.

More of a function of we wish kilns were designed with more like 120% of the energy needed than 110%.

You'll need to check the element resistance and see if they're worn. It's a little odd that it would reach cone 4 that quickly but then not reach cone 6 at all, but I wouldn't expect the outside temp to matter, especially since -5C isn't really that cold. Are you sure everything was set properly for the cone 6 firing? Is there a timer on the sitter, and if so are you sure it didn't shut off the kiln?

It is true that all elements are old, I can see it by looking at them, lol. I just didn't want to invest a lot and at once.