Rim Breaking

madatmyrims

Does anyone know why the rims of my pieces are doing this? I am a production potter and I make a large number of pieces and this has just started happening. It does it on multiple clay bodies but only every once in a while on dark glazes but usually always on our white glaze. We use the same base glaze for all and add colorants. Any help is appreciated. We fire to cone 6 oxidation- electric. https://www.dropbox.com/s/g0bgphvybm6bomc/Photo Nov 11%2C 12 45 19 PM.jpg?dl=0

8 minutes ago, Bill Kielb said:

Almost looks like it crawled but more importantly does that glaze fire to any gloss? Looks underfired in the picture. What colorant do you use for the white - zircopax? Post the recipe if known, that will likely help narrow down the issue.

That’s what I was initially thinking, but I’ve been using this glaze for the last 4 years and it just recently started doing this. We buy all our materials from Laguna and I did notice a bag change in their Neph Sye. I will add the recipe. It is a matte glaze if fired to cone 6. 

The glaze is 

Neph Sye - 6360 

Dolomite-  2120

Ball Clay- 420

Bentonite- 250

Zircopax- 840

We use this on three different clay bodies, Speckled Buff, 55 Laguna, 65 Laguna, and I have noticed it do it on all of them a few times but it almost always does it on 65. It also does it a lot on reclaimed clay.