Glaze and oxides not mixing

offmenu

Hello! 

I'm a newbie potter and know very little glaze chemistry but I have spent a year decorating pieces for other potters.

I have been using oxides, wax and etching to decorate glazed pieces but have recently run into issues when using new glazes.

The technique I've been doing -

Starting with a piece that's been dipped or brushed 3 - 5 times with a white glaze I draw on the dried glaze with a pencil, I then wax over the drawing, etch the lines, brush on a dark brown oxide and go over it with wax. In the past the part that is etched will retain the oxide and the wax on wax will get rid of unwanted oxide - creating a clean line drawing.

Recently in using new glazes ( Amaco satin matte and Amaco opaque white ) I am not getting the same results. The glazes used in the past were hand made, they seemed more chalky and dry, these glazes feel more wet (even after days of drying time). The oxides are basically being completely brushed off when I go over it with the wax. It will stick if I don't go over it with wax but not as well as with previous glazes.

Wondering if anyone has any insight about this? I would greatly appreciate it :D

Hi Off!

Good question; am interested to read responses.

My guess would be the commercial brush-on glazes have ingredients that cause that slick surface. Perhaps those experienced in prepared glazes can suggest alternatives.

Thanks for sharing your process. Would you consider posting pics?

On a side note, I’m not sure why you‘d recoat the lines with wax after you’d added your oxides and wiped off the excess.