Accidentally started manual kiln on high not low

Hello all- I’m new to pottery, been at it for about a year, and got my own kiln a couple months ago! It’s a skutt, no idea what model but it’s made in 1986 I think. Anyways- it’s been working great! 

I started my glaze firing tonight at cone 6- I usually prop the lid for an hour or two on low and close the lid and put peepholes in for another hour, medium for 3 hours and then high till finish.  Well silly me I had the dials at high and not on low accidentally! Went to check on it after an hour and a half and then realized my mistake! 

so I didn’t really know what to do, I figured putting it back on low wouldn’t help and if any damage was done it has already been done.. I switched it to medium and put the lid down. Now will continue the normal firing schedule of 3 hours on medium and then switch to high to finish.

my question is- what would you do in that situation? Would you have just stopped the firing and redo it after it’s cooled? Would cooling it cause more damage to the glazes? Hoping I made the right call and can update tomorrow but was hoping to hear what others would do incase I ever mess up again! 

Thanks! 

As a glaze firing, not much potential water to dry out so I would have done the same as you. Most of my glazes fire fine at 5 hrs, so I might have left it on high actually. I think you made a reasonable choice. If it was a bisque fire I might have been inclined to switch it to low for a bit and get it back on schedule knowing if anything was wet, I might have already damaged those wares.  Bisque firings run about half the speed of glaze to give enough time at temperature to burn out all organics effectively so that is why I potentially would  revert back to slow.

Edited by Bill Kielb

• 1 year later...

Hello Daisy. Welcome to the forum.