recipe for a brushable clear gloss cone 6 glaze

Rita Mattson

Since I've been asking  how to tweak my current clear gloss glaze recipe so it doesn't get pan hard, perhaps I should be asking for a new recipe that someone knows

doesn't get pan hard, and can be brushed on, as opposed to dipped or poured.  I have been using the Spectrum or Amaco glazes and have been happy with the results, but

the cost and availability here on the island of Maui requires I start making my own glazes.   I'm not a production studio, just a small home shop ( 12' x 15') rmaking pieces for myself, family and friends.   All supplies I need must be shipped to the island from the mainland, and often the shipping is more than the items!   I used to be able to ship from Oahu (was a bit more reasonable), but they have gone out of  business!

I usually use Laguna Clay for my supplies, using flat rate shipping boxes.  Any recipe and/or supplier recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Mahalo, 

Rita  Mattson

@Rita Mattson You can make any glaze brushable by substituting some of the water with gum solution. So first find a glaze that fits your clay body. If you're just using the clear as a top coat over the whole pot, I strongly recommend just dipping it, as it is much faster and easier to get an even application than brushing.

Gum solution: Mix 2 tablespoons CMC gum and 1/2 teaspoon copper carbonate (preservative, won't affect glaze color) with 1 gallon of hot water. Mix and let set overnight. Then mix it well using a hand blender. Then when you make your glaze, substitute the gum solution for about 1/3 of the water. You can use more or less of it depending on how you like your glazes to brush.