My glaze has tiny cracks across the surface

I’m just getting started with Ceramics and every time I use a gloss glaze it has these tiny hairline cracks across it’s surface, they actually look quite nice, however, I made a mug the other week and having glaze fired it (with a lead free dinnerware safe glaze) I used it for a cup of tea and there was this kind of hissing/popping sound of air escaping and when I picked the mug up the water water starting to seep through the base of the mug...

how do I avoid these tiny cracks so that I can make a watertight mug?? 

Thank you

The hairline cracks are almost certainly what is called crazing.  Do a search of these forums and you will find it is widely discussed.  Can you post a photo?

the leaky cup may be due to various causes.  As Babs is saying we need to know more detail of your clay body and firing to make suggestions.

It’s Earthenware- I bisque fire to 1100c so cone 03 and then gloss fire to cone 04. Which is what it says to do on the glaze pot (it’s a spectrum low fire glaze

the cracks are tiny! My phone can’t focus on them but I used a macro lens which is x15 (mum just got a phone lens kit which is useful for this) 

So this photo is by the rim- the mug has a ‘dessert’ glaze on it and then a clear gloss on top- I’d originally just done the dessert glaze but that wasn’t watertight so I then refired with the gloss on top which now has these cracks :(

E51B27C1-D888-4FD5-AEEE-CEFF64140D5F.jpeg

Yep that is crazing.  A very normal problem.  Your glaze is shrinking more than your pot does as it cools, that is what is making the cracks.  

A double layer of glaze may be providing too much flux, so I would try getting a thinner glaze layer first and that MIGHT fix the problem.

If that doesn’t do it, then get a new glaze, or reformulate the one you have to contain less fluxing power.

Not much you can do with the claybody I think, as earthenware is earthenware...

Jasmine is your claybody meant for cone 03 or higher?