Question on Formulating Cone 5 Porcelain Clay Body

kraythe

I have been purchasing my porcelain from a local provider but the problem is they won't tell me what is in it and sometimes it doesn't perform the way I want to. Now disclaimer, I am a hobbyist, not a professional so please keep that in mind. The thing is I have been Formulating a Porcelain by  Digital Fire and trying to figure out where to start.  Digital Fire doesn't tell me the vitrification temperature of the clay or how to calculate what cone the clay body is. So how can one calculate the temperature for a clay. Another question is where to start, I am trying to find recipies for this kind of porcelain to start with so I know kind of a direction to go. I want to create small batches and try them on the wheel and so on and then when I get one I like, my supplier will make 1800# for me. 

Don't let @glazenerd see this thread or you're in for it!

What exactly is the problem with the porcelain you're currently using, and what properties are you hoping to get out of your own formula?

The most basic cone 10 porcelain formula is 25% silica, 25% feldspar, 50% kaolin. Going from there, for a cone 6 porcelain you'll have to increase the feldspar to get it to fuse at a lower temperature. You'll also need to add plasticizers to make it more workable. I'm a big fan of VeeGum T, but there are other (cheaper) white bentonites and such that work well, too. The best porcelains use English Grolleg for their koalin. If you plan to have your supplier mix it for you, then you'll first need to find out what materials they keep in their inventory that are available for you to use in your formula. Convincing them to get in certain materials just for your mix will be difficult and expensive. Bear in mind, too, that this will take a long time, like maybe years to get just right. It may be easier to simply try out other porcelain bodies from other suppliers.

48 minutes ago, neilestrick said: