Underglaze On Mid-Fire Clay

I'm needing assistance on how to best paint details on a mid-fire clay. I'm fairly new at this, but have a small kiln that I fire ^6 oxidation in. My clay is ^6, but when I fire my details with underglazes, the color fires out. I do see that most of the underglazes say ^06. The pieces I'm referring to are decorational, not functional for eating, so should I be using a low fire clay? Does the mid-fire clay have to be fired to ^6?

Pungogirl: Yes and yes. You need to use low-fire clay and yes cone 6 clay needs to be fired to cone 6.

Commercial underglazes work great on lowfire white or you can use an white engobe of some kind to create zones on a pot made with lowfire red and then use the underglaze in those zones. Also you can use raku clay, undergaze, then use a clear or clear crackle glaze and with post-fire reduction the colors stand out strongly.

If you really want to paint on mid-fire or high fire post, the product you are looking for is called "overglaze enamel".

In which case you are probably firing glazed porcelain to a high temperature, painting with the overglaze and refiring to a low fire. You can buy all these products at the same place, maybe.

h a n s e n

I'm needing assistance on how to best paint details on a mid-fire clay. I'm fairly new at this, but have a small kiln that I fire ^6 oxidation in. My clay is ^6, but when I fire my details with underglazes, the color fires out. I do see that most of the underglazes say ^06. The pieces I'm referring to are decorational, not functional for eating, so should I be using a low fire clay? Does the mid-fire clay have to be fired to ^6?