Slip Casting Onto Dried Clay

Hi,

Im a 3d printer by trade and working on printing direct claymodels.

To make the surface more appealing I thought about covering the dried models with slip and leaving it there. The dired clay should have similar water absorbing potential as plaster of paris I assume and once fired clay and slip should be bonded enough to make permanent object.

Any ideas or suggestions about this proposed techique?

Cheers

More info please ...

Sounds like you are trying to layer slip over dry clay ... Letting it dry ... and assuming they will bond permanently?

Where does the plaster of Paris fit in?

How dry will the first object be when you try to cover it with slip?

Is the slip the same composition as the original form or some other type of clay?

Everything matters ... and chances of success rise when the slip is the same as the original clay.

Sounds like you are trying to layer slip over dry clay ... Letting it dry ... and assuming they will bond permanently?

Yes exactly. The plaster is just a comparison to dried clay not part of the process. 

How dry? as dry as necessary. To achieve the water absorption (comparable to plaster) I´d think it would to be rather dry.

Composition: assuming that the powdered clay for the slip is some form of normal clay, I would certainly not try to match it as much as possible.

Chris, it sounds like they were just using plaster as a point of comparison.

My question is, are you talking about dried clay, or fired/ bisqued clay.  Bisqued clay is porous and will absorb some water, but slip will likely crack and fall off, due to it shrinking.  Slip on an unfired piece also has a chance of it cracking as well.  Ideally, slip is applied around the leather hard stage, at the latest.  That way it shrinks along with the clay body itself.