Horse Hair supply?

I'm looking to give horse hair a try. I dont have any friends with horses. Beyond sneaking up on an unsuspecting cowboy, can anyone identify places to acquire horse hair?

I saw some web sites, but am always cautious of places I have no experience with.

Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Marc

I'm looking to give horse hair a try. I dont have any friends with horses. Beyond sneaking up on an unsuspecting cowboy, can anyone identify places to acquire horse hair?

I saw some web sites, but am always cautious of places I have no experience with.

Thank you,

Marc

I do have friends with horses but no one wants to cut the tail hair. I'll keep looking.

Guest alabamapotter

hey,

Even though I've owned horses I don't know much.... but, to shorten tails and such, you don't CUT the hair, you shuck it just like

getting rid of the silk on corn. Horses don't have nerve endings on the hair of the tail. If I were you, I'd probably ask the groomers for

the hair in the brushes and extract it from the barbed wire along the fence. I always give a piece of pottery in return for a natural clay source

or something as minimal as horse hair. You might want to check your area for rodeos, and county fairs, Farriers,, riding clubs, zoos, etc.

Thats alot of brushes which relates to alot of hair. At most tack shops, they sell horse tail extensions also.... Tack shops are probably on line

and if not, they travel with horse shows.

Good luck,

Alabama Potter

Hi,