Cone 5 Kiln?

MJ326

Hello, I am a newbie. I have inherited the beginnings of a home ceramic studio. 100's of slip cast molds, mixer, pouring table. No kiln or mentor! I have the opportunity to buy a kiln that fires to a cone 5, where most other kilns I've seen go to 8 or 10. I know it's sufficient for bisque but what about glazes for the Classic Christmas tree etc. I have a lot of platter and bowl molds, does food grade glaze require higher firings?

Thanks for any advise you can give. I only have room for 1 kiln and although it's a good price, it might not be a good value!

MJ

Welcome to the forums.

There are some pinned topics on each board that may answer some of your questions.

But in short, here are some answers.

Cone 5 is considered mid-fire, but is hot enough for food safe wares. Of course "food safe" is determined by many other factors, such as which glazes are used. Buuuuut, there are clays that vitrify at those temps, and vitrification is a big part of making food safe items.

Cone 8-10 kilns are pretty common. That tends to be the max end for most electrics. The caveat is, not a lot fire that high in electric, because it wears out the elements much quicker. Many that fire in the high fire range, use gas kilns. People will bisque in electric, and then glaze fire in gas.

To save money, you could use low fire clay and glaze for the non-food ware items, like the Christmas Trees. You would save on electricity, and wear on the elements.

If you post the specifics on the kiln, brand, model, condition, others could give you an idea, on if the asking price is reasonable,