Hi, I'm an art teacher based in Washington, DC and am interested in traveling to Mexico this summer to learn more about art and ceramics of the Mayan and Aztec people. I work in a Title 1 public school where some of my students are of Mexican descent. I'd like to be able to bring back into my classroom a better understanding and more creative ideas to my students. In my research to find some kind of professional development experience in Mexico, I thought someone in the Ceramic Arts Community might have a recommendation for me. Thanks for your help.  

Hmmm...resident Mexican Guinea here. ^_^ Welp, only one problem with Mayan ceramics--the Maya lived in South America, heehee. Aztecs have some COOL relief terracotta stuff!! They carved religious imagery into tiles and stuff--some of it is pretty scary. Nowadays, you'll mostly find scrumptious talavera (maijolica) ware down there, but be mindful of lead!

Super jealous of you getting to go! I'm a third-generation Mexican American, and I've always wanted to travel to the Motherland. I don't even speak Spanish, lmao! :D

Welp, only one problem with Mayan ceramics--the Maya lived in South America, heehee. 

The Maya were/are in the Yucatan peninsula in southern Mexico.   Are you thinking of the Inca/Quechua people?

Veronika, I don't have any specific suggestions for you.  But plan your trip regionally.  Mexico is a very diverse and highly regionalized country.  The Aztecs were centred in the Mexico city area and the Maya peoples are in the Yucatan.  If you are looking at the southern end of Mexico, I would check out the Mixtec, Zapotec, and Trique cultures of Oaxaca, Puebla, and Guerrero.  Much the artwork of these peoples made during the period of Aztec empire actually made it north to the Aztecs as tribute.