Splash Pan

I have an old Lockerbie kick wheel. I want to mount a bat on the wheel head that is larger than the splash pan can accommodate, and I don't want to decorate my studio with more clay splatters than necessary.

Specifically, the original splash pan can handle a 14" bat. I need a pan that can surround a 15" to 16" bat.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I could adapt for use as my oversize mud guard?

Thanks

Ken Takara

I have a 34 year old shimpo wheel that you can no longer get a splash pan for. They do make one to "fit" but it requires you to take the wheelhead off, something I've never done before and it costs $30. Anyway, I made my own splash pan and I really love it. If you go to a feed store, or tractor supply store you can get a feed pan intended for livestock. They are round, and about 4 inches deep. It is made out of super heavy duty rubber - strong enough for cows to step on! I cut a X in the bottom and slipped it over my wheelhead and ta da.. a new splash pan. It only cost me $6. Good luck!

I have a 34 year old shimpo wheel that you can no longer get a splash pan for. They do make one to "fit" but it requires you to take the wheelhead off, something I've never done before and it costs $30. Anyway, I made my own splash pan and I really love it. If you go to a feed store, or tractor supply store you can get a feed pan intended for livestock. They are round, and about 4 inches deep. It is made out of super heavy duty rubber - strong enough for cows to step on! I cut a X in the bottom and slipped it over my wheelhead and ta da.. a new splash pan. It only cost me $6. Good luck!

great use/example of inexpensive available item converted to "specialty ceramic equipment"! that same pan will be 40 bucks in next years ceramic catalogue! --john