• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Alex

Alex

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 10:29 AM

I am a high school ceramics teacher just started at my current school which happends to have a small cantanary arch kiln that has never been fired was built about 10 years ago. I am about to get it hooked up and checked out and really considering 6 reduction. I fire my on work to 6 and my thought is that most of thoes glazes would melt and work in reduction. I also think economically its better and I really dont want to be sitting at school waiting for 10 to drop while my family eats dinner. My questions are would firing schedual be the same I do a body reduction around 08 and would keep in light reduction till 6. Do most oxidation glazes work in reduction. Does anyone have a good cheap base glaze for cone six reduction. Anything else you might want to add about 6 reduction vs. 10 in a classroom setting would be a big help.
Thanks Jpeel

#2 oldlady

oldlady

single firing an electric kiln to cone 6

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 890 posts
  • Locationharpers ferry west va and pinellas park fl

Posted 01 October 2012 - 10:48 AM

[see susan greenleaf's work. she was at the Torpedo Factory in alexandria, virginia for years. probably still is. she gave our guild a wonderful workshop on cone 6 reduction. her pots are spectacular.
"putting you down does not raise me up."

#3 bciskepottery

bciskepottery

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,444 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia

Posted 01 October 2012 - 11:41 AM

Bill Schran at Northern Va Community College has done work at Cone 6 reduction (http://www.creativec...ek_cone6cry.htm), also Marcia Selsor has done a lot of Cone 6 reduction. Both of their sites have glazes, test tiles, etc. http://www.marciaselsor.com/

#4 perkolator

perkolator

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 299 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 04 October 2012 - 06:52 PM