Bat shopping for a Speedball...

Good morning!

As of late, I find myself anxiously awaiting little bowls from the two bats I have in

order to make more. Though I am new to pottery, I prefer to leave projects on the plastic

bats until they are dry enough to move elsewhere to finish drying.

Last night I was shopping online for additional bats for my Speedball wheel, and

came across several sites with various types. I haven't forgotten Ebay and Amazon,

but the prices seem a tad high.

I don't have enough experience to try out new things just yet, so I'm sticking to

the plastic bats. Could anyone suggest a good site for purchase of additional bats?

It seems the great prices are tarnished by high shipping charges. Several sites offer

savings for purchase of six, which would be fine, though at this point I don't need

too many.

*Update* Found some interesting reading!

BAT WHEEL TIPS - From BigCeramicStore.com

Many thanks for any suggestions.

Karen :)

Thanks for the link Karen!

I have several different types of bats, some plastic (two different types), Masonite, and even have tried the Wonder-bat and haven't

quite found one I'm really happy with quite yet. I do like the Masonite bates, until they start to warp, then getting the true again is

quite a pain in the hind end to say the least.

I too have been looking at other bats, and have been seriously considering plaster bats. I've looked at a bat system for making my own,

(and I'll be honest here, I'm not feeling very confident in my abilities and skills at the moment) but I'm not sure if I'm up to taking on such

a task quite yet. I've found the Hydro-bat online, and I'm wondering if anyone has given them a try and if so, what do you think of them?

Here's the link I found for them.

http://www.theceramicshop.com/store/category/8/13/Standard-Bats/

Jeri Lynne

I like to throw small forms on plaster bats (under 7 of clay)