QothW: Describe a day from your ceramics life that left you thinking "that was a bad day."

Mea(GEP)  lately posted in the question pool. . . . 

Describe a day from your ceramics life that left you thinking "that was a bad day." We've all had them. Here's your chance to vent. Or confess. And others can commiserate, or forgive. 

Bad days, I have certainly had them, but I'll stick with bad days of making pots. All of us have had bad days with over firings, with elements burning out, and having to repair the kiln and refire. We have all had situations where a wind would come up and blow over a booth shelf or in some cases blow the entire tent over wrecking much of inventory. In the long run these are learning experiences. We learn from them and pick up and go on.

So I will tell of my first salt firing. I was a grad student at Penn State, taking a 500 level ceramics course, firing my first salt firing. I had fired gas kilns before, that had doors on them, and we had a catenary arch kiln that had to bricked up to close. This kiln was about 30 cu ft as I recall. I had most of my work from the Summer, and another student was sharing the kiln and work load with me. We also had some pieces donated from others interested to fill the kiln load. We did the standard wadding, after much research on formulas, etc. We also looked into firing the kiln, but found little about the hour to hour process at the time. After bricking the door up in the afternoon we started the firing and all went well until about midnight when the door started to bulge out a bit, we were at orange heat or 2000F.  The door continued to bulge outward, until it was in danger of  collapsing. At that time at night very few people were around, and even less that knew what to do. We ended up going to the junk area digging through to find a couple of steel T shaped cross bars that we used to gently push the kiln bricks back inward propping the door closed.  We got close to the temp that we were supposed to intr