Painting On Ceramic Pots

anaskk

Hello, 

I am a painter and cartoonist. I live in Paris and I would like to do painting on ceramic pots. Does anybody know where can i get cheap plain ceramic pots in Paris. Also, if you can explain about what kind of paints and brushes using for the painting on ceramic and what method should I use while on painting , it would be great.

Thanks

Anas

Well, bonjour! ^_^ This is my arena, for sure. I'm not sure about getting bisqueware in Paris (try google, maybe?), but I can help with the "painting" part. There are a number of different ways you can do this, and I'll explain them.

Underglaze:

This stuff is what I use for my pottery's illustrations. It can be applied to greenware (raw, unfired pottery) or bisqueware (pottery that has been fired once at a low temperature, but not to maturity). Either way, you have to run the piece in a bisque cycle to "seal" the colors in.

The other way is painting underglaze on top of dried (but unfired) glaze. You take a piece of bisqueware, apply glaze that doesn't move a whole lot during firing, wait for it to dry, and make your illustration on the glaze. I don't like this method, since glazes can be really unpredictable, but it opens up a wider avenue for colored backgrounds.

Also note that pencil marks all burn away in the kiln, like a magic eraser. :)

China painting:

This is exactly how it sounds. You paint china. China painting is freaking difficult and I never got the process down... You get special "china paint" and paint over pottery that already has glaze on it. Then, you fire it at a really low temperature (like ^018 or something, I can't quite remember). This is a really picky process that takes years to master, but can have wonderful effects.

I have a bunch of my underglaze work in my gallery here; just click my guinea pig on the left and head to my profile to find my stuff. :)

Good luck!