Monochromatic Color Range

Mistfit

I am new to the glazing idea and had an idea to do a series of cups or bowls in a monochromatic color palatte. How is this achieved in a glaze? Is there something you can do to add a white or a black to lighten or darker the color?

colorwheel_monochromatic_lg.jpg

If you have a clear or white glaze that works on your clay then I would try a blue stain. If you have dry glaze then I would start with 1/2% of a blue stain (will be a very pale blue) and work up to about 8% (which will probably be quite dark). So I would mix up 500 grams of dry glaze with water and add 2. (point) 5 grams of blue stain, then dip a test tile and add another 2. (point) 5 grams which would be 1% stain and so on. You could start with less than 500 grams but the accuracy will be off a bit more by the time you get to the higher percentages.

If you are using a commercial wet glaze then I would guesstimate that it is 50% glaze and 50% water, and work out the weight from there.

mason stain colour chart: http://www.masoncolor.com/ceramic_stains.asp
(Some stains are specific to having or not having certain things in the glaze, zinc free or needs calcium etc.)

Another way you could do it is to dilute a dark glaze with a white or clear glaze.

In addition to colorant level testing, as Min mentions, the opacity of the glaze can also lead to further development. Zircopax is a common additive, though there are other opacifiers and other factors that contribute to opacity. It would be helpful to know what type of resources you have at hand before deciding on a course of action. Do you have a stocked glaze lab at your disposal? Are you working with commercial glazes? How much do you care about the specific colors and variations?