Choosing matte glaze set to gift a ceramics artist

Vasil Yordanov

Hi community,

I am looking to buy a sample set of matte glazes to gift my girlfriend. For a bit of background, she is an architect, and is currently doing a MA in Ceramics. In a couple of months she will start doing her thesis project, and I would love to gift her some inspiring glazes ;).

She likes complex colours, but is not a big fan of shiny finishes. I looked at the Clay-King sets, but did not find any matte ones.

As I am not a ceramics artist, could you suggest any such sets? It would also help me if you share your favorite glaze brands, and with which you have achieved the closest results to the advertized colors.

Any tangent suggestions about glaze types/sets will also be very warmly welcome!

Hi Yasil,

Welcome to the Forum!

While waiting for responses/input/ideas, can you identify the heat range and clays involved?

Typical heats are low fire (up to cone 1 or so), high fire (cone 10 or so) and mid fire (cone 5/6 or so). Which heat range makes a big difference! Glazes for lower ranges may behave very poorly at higher temps, and those for higher temps may not melt well at lower temps 

In my cone 5/6 experience, the clay also matters. The types and rates of defect;  the fit*, and appearance/color are all influenced by the clay.

Does the school have glaze ingredients and a lab/station for mixing?

*Fit, where extremes crack/ craze at one end, and shiver/flake off at the other.

Hi Mr. Banner ;)),

Thank you for your reply!

The clay they use at the studio as listed on the website they buy it from is:

"PC 02 S0-2

Plastic ceramic mass (chamotised)

Pebble content 0-2mm fraction - over 30%.

Glaze firing temperature - 1040-1180°C."

I presume there are some ingredients and a very rudimentary mixing setup, but my girl is not very specialized in this area of ceramics (she has a lot more experience with forms, shapes and handbuilding).