Wet Grinding Bisqueware?

I am new to slip casting but not to mold making and other mediums. In another medium (exposed aggregate concrete), I've made custom wholesale products that required me to make a larger-than-spec round item from a mold, then grind it down to an exacting diameter (within +/-.02") standard. With that medium, grinding of 1/32 to 1/24" was required anyway to expose the decorative stones in the  concrete body. So, I'm thinking as bisqueware (in my case stoneware) can theoretically be sanded, are there opportunities to make a thicker walled item and grind it down after bisque firing to the required diameter with wet diamond pads? If so, how thick is too thick? Are solid castings an option? I'd also have to take into account any thickness added by glazes when grinding. Just thinking out loud, would love to hear from slip casting ceramicists on this idea. 

PS. I think the answer on the keeping the final item within spec is that the amount of additional shrinkage during glazing might be too difficult to pinpoint or distort the shape?

Edited by cemoore

Interesting questions!

To try for +/- twenty thousandths (a fiftieth of an inch), perhaps taking off the last little bit after the final fire - for unglazed ware - would be an option?
Then the additional shrinkage wouldn't be a factor.

I'm curious what you're making.

Where two (or more) parts have to fit together, one can get fairly close by measuring the pieces when they are in the same state, where it helps that the pieces are about the same thickness, have similar curves, were worked similarly, there's more than one each to pick from, and there's experience, specific trials, and notes to draw upon.
Fitting together may be a simpler problem that meeting your dimension spec.