Help with choosing my first kiln!

Hello everyone, I’m new here and am in the exciting but daunting process of buying my very first kiln.

I am in the UK, for reference.

I’m looking at a Nabertherm 60-litre toploader, as they seem to be a good make, and quite energy efficient. I don’t have room for a larger kiln, and I am only a hobby potter, really, who also tends to make smaller pieces :)

My question is regarding the controller for the kiln. The controller that comes as ‘standard’ with the kiln is a B500 which has ‘Four freely adjustable segments’ and can store 5 programs. There is also an option to purchase an ‘upgrade’ of a C540 controller which has ‘Twenty segments’ and can store 10 programs. 

As a complete novice to kiln firing, I would like to ask more experience members if they think the ‘basic’ controller would be suitable, or is the upgrade worth it? For reference it is quite considerably more expensive - £372 ($453) to be precise!- which is probably money I’d rather invest elsewhere, although I wouldn’t want to regret not choosing it if it later turned out it would have been useful….

Thanks in advance for your help! :) 

It looks like holds are their own segments so you won't be able to get very complicated with the firings. Say you had some thick work and wanted to heat to 80c and hold for a few hours that would be two segments. One going from 0c-80c in 30 min and another segment holding 80c for 2 hours. Then you only have two segments left for the rest of the firing (which is possible)