Genesis 2.0 controller and Thermocouple errors

Velk

Hello!

I’m thinking I need to put in a new thermocouple and I’m wondering if there is one I could buy that fits my kiln and lasts longer?

I’m also wondering if I need to reset my controller if this issue might not just be the thermocouple.

I have a 1823E top hat kiln with a genesis 2.0 controller and a vent.  I bought it new 6 months ago.   I’ve fired it 19 times, only 5 of those were cone 5 glaze firings.  The rest were 04 bisque, raku and glass slumps.  I’m new to electric kilns.  I’ve read that a thermocouple would last about 20 firings to a high temp but maybe it’s 19 for my kiln.

Today I turned it on to load a bisque for firing later and the genesis screen showed “calibrating…” I’ve never seen that screen before.  After it booted up it showed TC1 and TC3 fail.

1236326875_Controller.jpeg.69a965c505a0f824235b11f1ec62a193.jpeg

TC.jpeg.3b631c57ac77f2b4725f82b648999fb0.jpeg

I’m new to electric kilns and not all that experienced in firing.  There’s just one thermocouple, but the genesis lists TC1,TC2,and TC3.  Did the calibrating screen I saw scramble some preset?  I don’t remember ever looking at the TC screen showing all 3 so I don’t know if it’s different from the previous firing.

I last fired a cone 5 glaze and didn’t get any error messages, the witness cones bent as expected.  The cone 6 guard cone remained upright.  There were no errors displayed.

When I first turn on the kiln, TC 1 and TC 3 show 2552degrees.  It couldn’t have gotten that hot on or the cone 6 cone would have over fired.

375104053_Controllerfirststart.jpeg.e25ce8640580c9e99942e54caba7f9a6.jpeg

I did notice some black dust on the shelf that I’m guessing is from the thermocoupler.  I didn’t notice any defects in the glazed pieces.

1292880926_Blackdust.jpeg.2eed5c47cb15bf38bca162b1a1490e43.jpeg

I looked at the genesis manual for thermocouple fail.