Duncan Teachers Plus 1100 degrees after 12 hours

Sorry if there is a similar thread already… I’m new to firing full stop! I just purchased a Duncan Teachers Plus and was running a high fire test today.

I started at 10am this morning on Manual setting, High Fire and set it for 6.5 hours with no idea how long it should take. I only have two glazed items in there just for the sake of it and placed cones 9 and 10 on the bottom and top shelves so they are visible from the peep holes.

After 11.5 hours and the cones are still standing.  I placed a thermocouple in the top a little while ago and it was reading 1111 degrees.  Half an hour later it was 1100 - I assume because the temp has dropped outside as well. 

I wonder if there is something or multiple things that I should have done differently? 

Maybe I should just use it to bisque if it won’t go higher? 

Thanks in advance…

Edited by Eagleangel

• Eagleangel changed the title to Duncan Teachers Plus 1100 degrees after 12 hours
7 hours ago, Eagleangel said:

I only have two glazed items in there just for the sake of it and placed cones 9 and 10 on the bottom and top shelves so they are visible from the peep holes.

Yes, definitely search the forum, references to manuals etc… are many for this kiln. Just something to note, electric kilns rated cone 10 will only make it to that temperature a handful of times with very new elements. Most folks buy a cone ten kiln so they can get about 150 firings at cone 6. In general, Electric kilns and cone 10 work are not the best combination for sure. An old used cone 10 kiln with used elements probably will not make cone 10. 1100 degrees is a long way off so likely part of that kiln is not firing as well. Troubleshooting by measuring element resistances are likely the first best test. Please disconnect the power first!

Edited by Bill Kielb

Yes we are talking Celsius… reading the manual before hand suggested that it would indeed fire to cone 10.