Will my kiln reach temp?

Hello all and thanks in advance for any help!

I'm currently bisque firing to cone 04. I have an older, small Olympic kiln with a kiln sitter. Single control with low, medium and high settings.

I switched things to high over 6 hours ago, after running 4 hours on low and 4 on medium. Usually it reaches cone 04 after less than 2 hours on high. 

At what point do I give up and accept that this firing won't complete? I keep thinking that maybe it will reach temp if I give it a bit more time.....only to find that the sitter still hasn't fallen. 

Unfortunately I don't have witness cones for my bisque firings, nor do I have a pyrometer that reads at a high enough temp. Both if which I now realize I should have. I'm still relatively new to all this, so it's all a learning curve. 

Should I shut things off and give up for this firing? Or is it possible I might still teach cone 04?

Once the kiln has cooled I plan on checking elements and all connections. Just wondering what I should do in the meantime. 

Thanks for the help!

Mandy 

Your are at three times the length of time, If it does not complete, it’s only bisque, they can be refired.. Crazy idea but if you have a pyrometer you could see if it’s climbing at a slow rate. I assume you do not have one so for me personally, I would switch it off and repair it.

Edited by Bill Kielb

No and cones no pyrometer is firing blind. You can tell by color if you are trained in looking in on that . I'm with Bill turn it off repair and get cones and a pyrometer . You would never drive a car blind right gas cost to much and what else may happen?

Thanks for the advice!

I did end up turning it off, realizing it wasn't worth the potential lost work.