Kiln Vent Still Smelling

Jeanetta

I have an Orton vent master on my Skutt 1027 kiln.

I don’t think it’s ever really been working properly since I first installed it (have done maybe 10 firings since install) as each time I can still smell some off-burning during firing.

The install: We carefully followed the instructions that came with the vent. We drilled two holes in the top of the lid and three holes in the bottom being very mindful of course that they fits within the collector cup diameter. The  cup is snug up against the base and all the ducting appears to be tight as far as I can tell.

I don’t think air pressure should be an issue as the kiln lives in a really big draughty old mill with giant doors open, so to my understanding this shouldn’t create pressure problems.

The vent leaves one part of the building directly at the wall and then goes straight up and out a little chimney on the roof that we formed and added a little arch cap to allow exit but prevent rain .

Am Including photos here of the set up.(When I was ordering the kiln vent I ran these plans by the supplier and he said this should all work fine).

So I’m totally confused! I don’t know why this isn’t working.

I just recently did my first firing since a big winter pause and there was so much moisture stream was coming out of the sides of the lid- I wound up turning off the fan vent and just propped the lid and removed a bung. I could hear some pieces breaking as well, eek! (very nervous to open when it finishes) :unsure:eventually the steam all came out and I’ve closed the lid at 1000 F.

This extreme steaming thing is new, I’m hoping it was maybe just from excessive moisture accumulated over the damp and icy cold winter season & hopefully won’t reoccur (the bisque ware shouldn’t be wet…) or the steam was maybe exacerbated by it being pretty windy today….But either way I would’ve expected the vent to be extracting what it needed to if there was moisture….?