How to make a gloss glaze more glossy?

katkat1000

Hi! I'm very very very new to mixing my own glazes and I was wondering if anybody who has more experience would know how to adjust this cone 6 clear gloss glaze to be more glossy? This recipe fires well with my clay body (Georgie's Kristy Lombard or G-Mix 6) and Amaco underglazes, but I just wish it had a bit more sheen to it. 

Here it is: 

Feldspar Custer 200m - 36.5%, Frit Ferro 3134 - 20%, EPK - 18%, Silica 400 - 12%, Whiting - 8.5%, Talc 325 - 5%, Bentonite -  2%

Hmm, this one is tough as it is fairly glossy at this point. First thing is you very likely do not need the bentonite as you have 18% clay which should suspend things. Since bentonite really does not contribute to the look, I would remove it if not absolutely needed.

Boron is a bit  high in this recipe. More ideal would be about 14% 3134, which actually may improve the gloss a bit strangely enough.

The other technique would be to move the Si:Al ratio by adding or subtracting a little silica. 7:1 is in theory the glossiest but that is not written in stone so increasing silica slightly often can improve the gloss. In your case this glaze is already slightly higher than 7:1 so increasing by 10% may improve it. If not it would be worth decreasing it by 10% which may also improve it.

So I would run a test with the reduced 3134 to see what effect it has. If it improves, then changes in the silica level may improve it further.

All of these composition changes may affect the fit as well, so it’s possible this could end up with more gloss and no longer fit your clay body so testing is super important.

Finally we ought to be sure it was fired to maturity, do you use cones, can you post a picture?