New to Pottery—Any good used models I should search for?

rjschade

I'm brand new to ceramics and throwing, and want to get a starter wheel.

Wondering if anyone can tell me any models to keep an eye out for USED, or what a good option would be that's not too steep NEW. I can't find very much out there that speaks to the history of machines, or good machines to look out for used. 

I found a Creative Industries MP that powers up and spins, but doesn't have the pedal so it's at 1 speed. From what I've learned here, CI is no longer around, so getting a replacement pedal seems a near impossible feat. Is this machine still worth it even at 1-speed? 

Thanks for any info, and apologies for the noviceness

Best,

R

I bought a used pacifica gt400 a few years ago --  the price was right--and I have been very happy with it . I don't consider it a starter wheel but it is one of the lower priced full featured wheels so you might be able to find a used one at a decent price. It's quiet and smooth  and  I haven't had any problems at all with it.  I think it is about 12 years old at this point.   I believe it is rated to 80 lbs but I haven't thrown much over 10-12 lbs on it so I can't attest to how it handles heavier loads.  Personally I would not spend money on a single speed wheel if you can't get a foot pedal.