Gare Kiln Model 1818 Questions

Hello, 

I have some questions about a kiln that I bought recently. I believe that it is a Gare Kiln model 1818. It's definitely an older kiln. I had bought it as second hand but didn't get a ton of information. Note that I am brand new to pottery. I did some work a while back while taking a course but I'm wanting to try for myself. 

My questions are: 

- Is the 1818 a high fire or low fire? 

- What cone does it use up to? 

- How long are the fires? 

If you could give me some information that would be amazing! I have tried looking for a manual but have had no luck! 

Gare Kilns were taken over by Evenheat. User manuals for the old Gare kilns aren't among those published on the Evenheat website, but if you call them, they are helpful and can get the old manuals out of their archives for you. As for the capabilities of the kiln, some of that should be listed on the electrical rating plate that is attached to the side of the kiln or the control case. If you post a picture of that, we can see what it looks like.

dw

Have you fire one of those before? They work, you just have to make sure your pieces are totally dry when you bisque fire, because the kiln will heat up pretty quickly at the bottom since the elements will be full on when you flip the switches. Start with the lid cracked a couple of inches and turn on the bottom switch. After an hour turn on the next switch. After another hour close the lid. After another hour turn on the 3rd switch. After another hour turn on the top switch. You could speed up the last two switches to 1/2 hour if you wanted to.

This kiln is a good candidate for a wall mounted digital controller.

• 11 months later...
  • 8 months later...