Semiconductor Firing

Hello All,

Im an engineer at a semiconductor manufacturing plant that specializes in thermistor ceramics. Ive been experimenting on different formulas and sintering profiles. The parts are experiencing warpage problems. Upon my experiments the freshly pressed parts dipped in water then sintered come out straight. no warpage at all. The parts I dried come out warped. 

The mix consists of manganese, cupric oxide and nickel. Spraydried with binder. Then pressed 16 tons into 32mm discs 3mm thick.

Any ideas on why this is happening?  It seems backwards why the wet part is coming out perfect. In my pottery experience, it should of cracked or exploded.

Thank you!

Hi Shinigami!

By "...then sintered..." do you mean pressureless sintering - high temperature only? If so, what does your firing profile look like (time and temperature)?

The materials, would you describe them as metallic powders (hence, not ceramic)?

Any road, in pottery, the water is trapped enough such that pressure may be generated as the water changes phase; perhaps your material allows moisture to escape as vapour without significant lag time (hence pressure).

What ingredients in the sprayed binder (are they soluble in water)?

The warped parts, were they subject to the same "...dipped in water..." step, but allowed to dry before the sintering? If so, any relationship between the drying process and subsequent warpage - which side "up", which side dried first, etc.

Interesting! Pictures?

Hello, Thank you for the reply!

Yes sintering through a 30 foot pusher style kiln. There are 3 zones of which is 2135F.  Speed of .5 inches a min.

Yes metallic powders, but its all very well oxidized before sintering. No raw shiny metals.

We use a cellulose binder which is water soluble. 

I suppose they could dry quickly inside of the pusher kiln. I tried to get them in there as quickly as possible to eliminate any drying before sintering.