Seeking cone 5/6 electric kiln drop-and-soak and slow-cool firing schedules

Hi All,

I am having consistent trouble with blistering in my work. I have done a lot of research about how to troubleshoot this, and one of the solutions I have come across is doing a drop-and-soak firing. I am new to doing my own firings and to programming my kiln rather than using the pre-programmed schedules, but I tried the C6DHSC firing schedule.  The result was pretty terrible. Glaze ran and pooled, blistered, and darkened. Clearly everything was over-fired, and it didn't even help with the blistering! In fact I now realized it may have made it worse. I’m using a Skutt electric kiln with the Kiln Master controller.

Some of the glazes I'm using do better at cone 5,  so I'm trying to find a full program/script that will both (1)  help heal pinholes/blisters and (2) have a slow cool for better glaze outcomes (I've heard this is almost universally better than a natural cool). I know so much of this depends of the glaze and clay body. I am using Laguna S956 White Stoneware casting slip and various commercial glazes, mostly from the Amaco Potter's Choice  series. If anyone is willing to direct me to the full programming schedule for something like this I would be very grateful!

Hi JRW!

Can't help you with your program, however, I'd like to suggest you identify your controller make and model - perhaps someone with the same setup can help.