pots like the greeks!

Hi. I am new to ceramics, i've thrown for maybe 4 months, and had some of my pots fired for me at the studio i work in. Now with a mounting collection of pots, i'm interested in figuring out the rest of this process. The pots are all small, 3"-8" diameter, 3"-8" tall (1/8'-1/4" thick), so standard window sill dwelling house plant size. My idea is, decorate the pots with a flat black glaze and fire in the most primitive way available in order to maximize the earthiness of the pots without over doing it. I tried to heat some over my wood stove, then put into my wood stove, but although the smoke and heat made for some nice looks, the two pots cracked. The pots that were fired at the studio i'd been using came out harder and shiny-er then what i'm used to seeing terracotta look like. I do not know what cone they were fired too but i'm assuming it was a high cone and that caused the higher luster.

My questions:

For matt black drawings on otherwise unglazed terracotta (think Greek urn) what are my glaze options?

For a more primitive firing technique, such as pit firing, what should i know? Are there different temperatures for different terracotta's from different suppliers?

Can i glaze then fire without a bisk firing?

If i was to buy a used kiln, what tempeture would it need to go too?

In a nut shell, if i was an ancient greek potter, what would my studio look like, from glaze to kiln?

thank you!!

-isaac

The Greeks were the first to control the atmosphere inside kilns. They did sophisticated firings. You should find a copy of "Understanding Greek Pottery".

The way they achieved the orange and black combinations is believed to be through the reoxidizing process after a heavy reduction. Supposedly they used a course slip and a very fine terra sigilatta. No glaze.

As for your studio , I think it would be located in the Attica neighborhood of Athens.

Marcia

Hi Marcia,