Fall 2020: How are you teaching ceramics?

Hi all, I am a pottery and sculpture teacher at a HS in Massachusetts. I wanted to start a forum here to discuss your plans for teaching this fall- I thought it could be a good way to share ideas!

My school has chosen a hybrid model, though they have not yet agreed on a schedule. No matter what, I will only see each student in person 2 (or fewer) times per week.

While I plan to have them on the wheels when they are in class, I am not sure how to address their time at home. I want them to continue making while remote (and the district is requiring them to have a full classload on their remote days) but I am really not sure how to approach this. Any thoughts/plans would be appreciated! 

Stay sane 3D teachers, we got this!

In regards to myself, I was *supposed* to have my 3-D class right away, but that has been tweaked a bit.  We are running a "traditional", 8-Period schedule.  HOWEVER, due to COVID and some recent storm damage, we are altering things a bit.  The storm damage pushed back our start date, and the COVID is not trending in a favorable manner.  So instead of having all eight of our classes, we are splitting the Semester into Quarters, and doing four one Quarter and four another.  The class length will be doubled, so we are essentially running a Block Schedule.  I have *zero* issues with this, because we used to run a Block, and I loved it!

However, due to scheduling, my colleague who teaches Middle School, cannot be at the building as he will be at one of our Elementary buildings.  So I will likely have to cover his sections of Middle School Art!  Other than covering for him a time or two, I haven't taught Middle School Art since my Student Teaching days!