Stoneware Thickness

Rich2020

Hi

I want to attempt to make profile moulds for a jigger jolly as I'm a novice and don't have the skill to throw by hand. 

My question relates to the final thickness of stoneware? I'm trying to straddle the line between durability and aesthetics. Again I'm referring to final thickness recommendations out of the kiln. I will infer a 10 to 12% allowance for shrinkage.

I figure this is one of those how longs a piece of string sort of questions, but I guess I could get a roundabout answer from consensus or the average.

Thanks

Hi Rich,

Good question! If there are any pottery stores/outlets/galleries nearby, you might spend some time checking out other potter works.

Durable <--> aesthetic, ok, perhaps strong <--> light; any road, trade offs, indeed.

I'm guessing many others also strive for thin and light, and once getting there, then move somewhat thicker for strength/durability and balance. I like the feel of foot ring; to me, it's worth the time, effort, and a smidge of weight for a) the ease of handling - a place for soapy fingers to catch, and b) it's easy to polish the part that touches one's table top. On the other end, I like the rim of a bowl to swell just enough that there's a perceptible recurve on the inside, again, for handling. I also like all rims to have enough "meat" that they can stand up to a bit of banging about, whilst not being uncomfortable to sip from; shape also matters for sipping - make a place to park that lower lip! The wall between foot ring and rim can go a bit thinner, and still be strong, imo ...also the base within the foot ring, where I'm looking to leave 4-5 mm (leather hard) on cups, mugs, and small to medium bowls. ...which brings up overall size, right? Bigger pieces, a bit thicker, for the curves are shallower, hence  more strength required? What sizes are you aiming for? What types of pieces?