Mixing Clay Bodies

Maddie H

Hi All- I am a college student in Maine working with the local clay on my island and am wondering if you all have some tips for me. 

I have tried throwing with the screened/cleaned clay and it seems to crack reguardless of what I have put into it to add elasticity. 

I have an idea that I could apply the clay as slip onto a a green piece and fire it in a ^06 bisque and then lowfire glaze kiln and am wondering if anyone has experience with this? 

THe local clay vitrifies around ^06 and the white stoneweare vitrifies at ^6/midfire range. 

Thanks for any help or advice you can offer! 

18 hours ago, liambesaw said:

What's your goal? Just to use a local clay somehow?

I wouldn't glaze fire a cone 6 body to cone 06, it would be very weak

What if I applied a slip of local clay onto a bisqued piece and bisqued it again, creating a shell of sorts? That would seem to solve the weakness of unvitrified mid fire clay as well as well as give the color/appearance of the red local clay. Let me know what you think, thanks for your help so far! 

2 hours ago, Maddie H said:

What if I applied a slip of local clay onto a bisqued piece and bisqued it again, creating a shell of sorts?

Really high odds that the slip applied to the bisqued piece will crack and / or flake off the bisqued clay. 

What happens to the clay when you take it up to cone 6? Does it turn into a puddle?  Is using it as a slip on lowfire clay an option or do you need to use midfire clay?

21 hours ago, Maddie H said:

I have tried throwing with the screened/cleaned clay and it seems to crack reguardless of what I have put into it to add elasticity. 

What have you tried to add plasticity so far?