What to do about absorption, pinging, crazing

Good evening, I am a newbie and have some questions, I’m hoping to get some help with. First, I really like the amaco glazes, but I’m having a hard time finding a compatible clay body. I get pinging with laguna b-mix. Amaco A-mix has an absorption of 7%.  I have spent a lot of money on amaco glazes. Does any one have any recommendations or advice on a white clay body without grog, that I can use to prevent pinging/crazing with a absorption of less that 3% at ^6 ? Thanks

8 minutes ago, NostalgicCeramics said:

Good evening, I am a newbie and have some questions, I’m hoping to get some help with. First, I really like the amaco glazes, but I’m having a hard time finding a compatible clay body. I get pinging with laguna b-mix. Amaco A-mix has an absorption of 7%.  I have spent a lot of money on amaco glazes. Does any one have any recommendations or advice on a white clay body without grog, that I can use to prevent pinging/crazing with a absorption of less that 3% at ^6 ? Thanks

You'll have to get away from the "mix" bodies.  

What part of the country do you live in, and what is offered at your local pottery supply place?  I think the porcelaineous clay bodies like amix and bmix and seamix and such will all have that low expansion issue with amaco glazes.  A good old fashioned stoneware may be your best bet (and as a plus, they're easier to work with than bmix!)

19 minutes ago, NostalgicCeramics said:

I was just looking at the Rocky Mountain Clay in Dover

If it's this one then no I wouldn't even bother testing it. It's rated as a cone 5 -10 body with 1% (+/- 1%) absorption. I'm assuming this figure is for cone 10 which means it would more than likely leak at the temps you fire the cone 6 Amaco glazes at.