Homemade clay from dirt... lots of sand?

af2018

Hello. Im new to the world of pottery, clay, etc. Im experimenting for fun trying to make my own clay from dirt in my yard. I live on 100 acres of clay-rich soil.

I followed all the steps in Youtube videos, straining, screening, letting the dirt settle, repeat over and over. Most recent I let the clay sit in a bucket for a week, poured off the water on top, etc. I then poured it into a towel. When I was done, I had what appears to be clay but there is a lot of grittiness in the hands while molding. 

What am I doing wrong? 

I poured out the last batch in the dirt and I could see 'streams of dark particles' (like when youre at the beach and the sand has those dark patches. Im assuming thats the sand in the clay.

So.... any ideas how to purify my clay?

Thanks!

41 minutes ago, liambesaw said:

You can sieve it when it's a liquid. 60 mesh should be ok

If I used a 100 mesh (just googled it) would that take out clay particles as well? I want this stuff super pure just to be an over achiever!

Eh 80 mesh is probably as small as I'd go, it is what is used for glazes if that's any indication of how small 80 mesh is.  You will have a hard time screening even at 60 mesh, and at 80 mesh it will probably take hours of pushing it through the screen.

18 minutes ago, liambesaw said:

Eh 80 mesh is probably as small as I'd go, it is what is used for glazes if that's any indication of how small 80 mesh is.  You will have a hard time screening even at 60 mesh, and at 80 mesh it will probably take hours of pushing it through the screen.

thanks!

On 6/27/2019 at 3:57 PM, liambesaw said:

So I bought this on Amazon (1/100" mesh):

https://www.amazon.com/SE-GP2-1100-Patented-Stackable-Sifting/dp/B00BP2I77U/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=100+mesh+screen&qid=1562179315&s=gateway&sr=8-3

I have no clue if 1/100" equals 80 mesh.