Firing Kindergarten/First Grade Animal Sculptures

Hi all,

I was thinking that I wanted to have my kindergarten and first grade students make animal sculptures for Mother's Day, but I have a few questions about firing.  I am basically a beginner and know almost nothing about firing ceramics - I have used our schools kiln before for flat objects like cookie cutter ornaments. I really want to do this project because I think it will be fun, cute, and way more creative for the kids, but I am worried about the firing process.

1) From what I have gathered it is best to hollow out clay if it is thicker than 1/2 in. Is this always true? I don't think that my students will be able to do this bit for themselves  and I'm not sure I want to take on hollowing out 24 clay animals by myself.

2) A lot of instructions I have read have suggested letting these things dry for 1 - 2 weeks. I have never done this with previous projects and have done a preheat in the kiln for 24 hours. Is this okay to do? 

Thanks for any help! 

A couple suggestions:

As you mentioned, you don't want to have to hollow out the sculptures yourself, and no one blames you.  So use a construction method, that would give you a consistent thickness, so you don't have to worry about it.  I would suggest Pinch-Forming, or formed Slabs.

My colleague, at the Elementary Buildings, has his students create Pinch Bowls, which once formed to a good thickness, they reform to turn them into "Monsters" or fish, where the opening of the bowl, becomes the mouth.  From there, they score and slip on eyes, fins, teeth, etc.  He does it with right around the same age range, you mentioned, and they turn out nicely.