Firing My New Kiln

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie to ceramics... We recently bought a kiln from ebay and have just had an electrician hook it up in our garage. Reading most firing schedules, it instructs to prop the lid open for an hour or so at the start to warm the kiln slowly. 

The manual I have found online for the kiln is quite general to all their models so it's unclear about starting the firing. It's an  Olympic model S1823, but an older version than is available now, it has a kiln sitter device.

On our kiln, there is a padlock type catch that requires the lid to be closed, before the power can be turned on. I'm guessing it must therefore be ok to begin firing with just the 2 peepholes, and the hole in the lid unplugged? 

Thanks for any input..

If you have lo-med-hi or numbered (infinite) switches, there's no need to prop the lid. I'd keep the lid hole closed but keep the top peep open. Unless you have a downdraft vent hooked up to it, in which case keep all the holes closed.

Thanks for your speedy reply!

Yes it has three lo-med-high switches, there is no vent. 

From their manual they seem to suggest keeping the lid hole open, unless I'm confusing the terminology, but I guess it wouldn't make too much difference anyway would it? 

2. Plug all observation holes except the top, which should remain unplugged throughout the

firing to allow a vent for fumes and vapors.