Firing Supports, Avoiding Slumping Or Warping During Firing

Hi all,

I handbuilt something that won't fit in my kiln lying flat (as in image) and wonder if it would work to fire it standing it on its side instead (my kiln is 21" round so it would fit that way).

It's 20"W x 20"D x 4"H (wet) and made from slabs which I rolled in every direction (with a rolling pin) and joined with magic water slip. It's almost two entire bags, which means probably about 40 lbs wet. The slabs are about 5/8" thick (wet).

I used Laguna B-mix with grog, cone 5.

What would happen if I fire it standing on its side without supports? Will it actually need supports? If so, do they need to be fully vitreous or can they be just bisque? Or can they be just greenware like the object itself? Or should they be metal, and if so what kind of metal? What shape should they be and how should I place them?

(If you look at the images, the round part is hollow, FYI).

This is my first time ever building something this large so I would very much appreciate any info anyone could send my way and thank you in advance!

post-11816-0-58595900-1395263598_thumb.jpg

post-11816-0-35828500-1395263616_thumb.jpg

post-11816-0-58595900-1395263598_thumb.jpg

post-11816-0-35828500-1395263616_thumb.jpg

Props would be advisable, as the alternative, is leaning it against the kiln wall, which isn't a great idea.

I'd recommend using props that have been bisqued, as they'll be much stronger, than using greenware clay.

Your project might actually be OK during the bisque firing. It will be the higher glaze firing, that will cause the slumping/ distortion. If you were firing low, it would be OK, at cone 5, it will sag, if you stand it on its side.