Err 1

Skip

I recently acquired a used 15 year old or so L&L E23t (2.5 inch brick) kiln with a Dynatrol.  I have done three bisque fires (cone 06) and three slow glaze fires (cone 6). The bisque fires have gone well but the glaze firings took 9 hours (with just test tiles since I mixed my own glaze), 10.5 hours (with 8 pieces inside) and 13 hours with an error message and stopped program with a full kiln. The max temp reached in the last firing was 2150 or so. I did a paper test and all the elements are working. The person I bought the kiln from said that the elements were two years old. I am brand new to the pottery world so I did not think to ask how many times it had been fired. Should I change elements, relays, and thermocouples to get a fresh start or is there another reason that I am having trouble hitting the top temp? Any insight would be great. 

Here is a list of error codes for L&L kilns; https://hotkilns.com/error-codes

The code you got was due to the kiln not ramping up in temp fast enough to maintain the program set; are you entering your own program, or using the "quick fire" options (i.e. slow/fast--->cone ?). If you are entering your own program you may have entered an incorrect ramp schedule; not sure if the controller would pick this up as a fault prior to the "slow down" point in your firing or not.

A paper test does not do much to determine an element's functionality. Unless the element has cracked/broken, even a worn/aged element will still provide enough resistance to reach paper ignition temps (451*F), and even show "red color" in the element wire.  A good multi-meter is the way to test an elements resistance in OHMS; https://hotkilns.com/checking-elements. 

That tutorial will walk you through the process to check your element wires. If you're uncomfortable with electrical work, might be best to hire an electrician, or better yet, a local kiln repair technician.