Clear Glaze Crazing

I've not been able to find a decent clear glaze that doesn't craze.  I'm firing to cone 5, and I'm using a ^5 porcelain.   I've done a few of the recipes from the book the Complete Guide to Mid-Range glazes, as well as used a few commercial glazes, and have had zero success.  I've done numerous tests with different coats and I either get a clear that is too milky or crazes.  

It is most frustrating because I do a lot of sgraffito, and need to be able to produce pieces that I can sell, and not toss.

It only happens on the bare clay surface, not when it's applied to a black underglaze. 

Any recipes, or thoughts would be very helpful... I'm not very good with glaze chemistry.  

Thank you!!!

Laurène

I have a very lovely clear that was reworked by Ron Roy for Sue Hintz. This is his Version #2. I have use this on Frost, Bray ^6 porcelain. Armadillo ^6 porcelain and Nara ^6 porcelain.No crazing.

Cornwall Stone   33.5

G200                   22

Whiting                18

Gerstley Borate   10

EP Kaolin               5.5

Silica 325 mesh   11

add bentonite        2

total                     102

works well with pink and Satin mason stains. It is a nice  satin to gloss at a strong 6 more satin at a medium 6. Does not run.

Marcia

Laurene,

Which of the clear recipes from that book have you tried? And which had the crazing lines the furthest apart? (the John Britt book is what you are referring to?) If you could post that info I'll see if my clear for porcelain has a lower coe, might do the job.

M.

Thank you so much Marcia, I'll try it!

Laurene,

Which of the clear recipes from that book have you tried? And which had the crazing lines the furthest apart? (the John Britt book is what you are referring to?) If you could post that info I'll see if my clear for porcelain has a lower coe, might do the job.

M.