Policies On Custom Work

Hello Fellow Potters!

Working for several small businesses in the past, I've learned that it can be a very good idea to establish business policies from the get-go before things get out of hand.

Ex: you break it, you buy it, etc...

I would like to set up some policies for custom works, as I am just getting started selling commissioned pieces.

I am wondering if anyone else has policies on custom commissioned works? For example, when to take the payment? How much to charge for a custom/personalized piece versus what you typically charge for the piece in inventory? Do a set dollar amount mark-up or a percentage? For example, a customer would be able to get any one of the pieces I typically make and have it personalized for them. Certainly, I would charge them more money to make it personalized (if only for the fact that I couldn't necessarily sell it if they walked away from it) rather than what I typically charge for the item, right?

Also, how does one handle a situation when the customer is not happy with the pieces that were made for them? I imagine it to be kind of difficult to find a balance somewhere between "Too bad, this is what you get" and "Let me try again and again and again until I get it just perfect especially for you!!" Maybe I think too much?

Anyway, any thoughts/recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks!

- Sam

Ahead of time disclaimer ... I have not had good experiences with custom work, don't even want to hear the word anymore.

Success in custom work is dialogue and sticking with what you already do.

Listen to your client to get a firm idea of what they want. Then sketch the design or show them a similar piece, show samples of the colors, show how big it will be, what it will look like ... emphasis on "NO TWO ARE 100% ALIKE".

Then you both sign an agreement that acknowledges they agree to pay for the item described and you will make it as described.