Speckled buff pinholes

garyl

I'm pretty new to pottery, just started this summer and am enjoying it.

I tried a glaze from glazy - studio white - https://glazy.org/recipes/7973

I made a batch, and used it with no zircopax on a speckled buff piece, laguna #60 clay. It has several pinholes right on a speck.

I added the 10% zircopax and used it on a bowl, and the glaze turned out fine, with no pinholes. Both pieces were bisqued and fired the same.

I used a very slow bisque, about 20 hours to cone 04.

The glaze firing was to cone 6, it went to 2200, held for 10 minutes, dropped to 2100 and held for an hour, then turned off. The witness cones confirmed the temps.

I'd like to find a clear glaze that doesn't pinhole on the speckled buff clay. It looks like the zircopax does something to the glaze so that it doesn't speckle. How can I get a clear that works the same?

Thanks

Gary

pin1.jpg

pin2.jpg

Glaze looks really fluid, it's pulling those manganese speckles in the claybody a fair bit. I'm thinking the bowl form versus the flat bottomed form is contributing to the success of the white glazed pot. With a fluid glaze and gravity working on your side (with a curved rather than flat pot) the pinholes have an easier time healing over.

Have you fired the clear glaze on a bowl form with success and/or fired the white glaze on a flat bottomed pot? If the white is okay on a flat bottomed piece then its probably worth a try adding silica to the clear to bring the level up to the same as it is with the zircopax white version. (zircopax contains zircon + silica). Bumping it up to 22.90 and leaving everything else the same will balance it out so the silica level is the same in the clear as in the white formula. If you try this just mix up a small test batch to try it.