Plaster mold making for complex pieces

Hi all, 

Looking for advice on making plaster molds for slip-casting a complex piece with multiple undercuts.

Any advice or good resources for the following would be so helpful and appreciated:

plaster mixing

slip recipes

making two and three piece molds

Hey there! 

Im also relatively new to slip casting but I like to tell my self I’m a competent maker. With plaster and slip casting Ive had some misses and more recently many more successes. 

Places to start;

Andrew Martin’s book “Essential Guide to mold making and slip casting” is the one. Honestly, just start here. My local library had it, I read it and ive since bought it. Its worth every penny. It has plaster ratios and slip ratios. I buy my slip premade as its cheap and easy. If i were to scale my operation id consider mixing slip but cost is not an issue for me. 

as to the 2-3 part mold, Martin covers it in his book but its a great visual problem to solve in in your brain/sketchbook. 

The trickiest thing i found when getting started was the plaster to water ratio. I just couldn't get the math right. I started a topic in the forum. (Im trying to attach the link...i dunno). I ended up building a calculator in google docs. 

The quick and easy way to do it is 7parts water 10 parts plaster by weight. 

I hope this helps. Happy making! 

The primary advice I would give you is be prepared to make mistakes. They happen. I've been doing this a long time and I still make mistakes.  (Don't anticipate all the undercuts, don't find the right parting line, etc.) It's just part of the process.