Old Amaco glaze? Solidifying on the bottom of the bucket.

Syvanis

Hello, 

As mentioned in my last post I am a Teacher that was put into a brand new position 4 days before school started. My back ground in clay is minimal and I am learning a TON, but having some specific issues. The history of my classroom was a very experienced ceramicist ran the program for 25 years. She was replaced by a person that ...kept things very simple... I want to give my students a wide range of potential projects. 

There are about 15 AMACO 5 gallon glaze buckets. Talking with students it seems for the last 5 years the teacher never did dip glazing with the students and always did underglazing.  Maybe I am wrong but it seems like dip glazing is more typical for the average potter. Anyway. I decided to use the dip glaze. We did a successful fire and most of them turned out. 

Two colors gave me issue. Arctic Blue and Nite Black both seemed to collect very heavily on the bottom of the bucket. Specifically the Nite Black even after going at it with a drill and mixer for 5 minutes still was not mixing well.  

I thought I had got the Arctic Blue well enough, but everything that was glazed with that color had little to no blue afterwards. Black I stopped kids from using as it felt like it wouldn't work.

SO Does glaze "go bad" If it sits and collects for years it is better to just let it go? What can I do to mix that better? Is it just a matter of running the drill through it for longer?

Last time this forum was a ton of help and thanks for any answers!