Terracolor transparent glaze over Spectrum underglaze

jrm1

I'm new to using underglazes and am having trouble with glazing on top of the brush on Spectrum underglazes. The Terracolor Transparent stoneware  glaze is patchy in thickness and milky here and there. The resulting image underneath was less defined than I had expected to see after firing. The underglazes were applied pre-bisque firing. I used disposable gloves and was very careful to keep the ware dust free and oil free. 

There is a small but noticeable indent or depression of the surface level on the glaze where it crosses from one colour to the next, as if there is chemical interaction between the glaze and certain colours. Three coats of underglaze were applied.

I'm after a flat and even finished surface with all the detail preserved in the design.

The firing schedule was 60 deg C / hr until 600, then 100 deg per hour to I think 1220. 

Please post some pictures. It'll be much easier to diagnose the issue.

In general, if a clear glaze isn't clear, firing hotter will often help. The problem could also come from the glaze and underglazes being incompatible. Not all products play nice together. Application techniue could be the cause of the patchiness. You need to brush each coat of clear glaze in the opposite direction of the previous coat.

5 hours ago, jrm1 said:

There is a small but noticeable indent or depression of the surface level on the glaze where it crosses from one colour to the next, as if there is chemical interaction between the glaze and certain colours. Three coats of underglaze were applied.