Firing ^5 Slip Cast Forms With Bisque ^06 Or ^04 ?

Hello everyone!

I have never done mid range firings before.I am not sure what would be the best temperature to do bisque firing to Laguna S-965  (Cone 5) Slip Cast pieces.

The size of the pieces 14"dia x 9 height" ,  3D  hallow round forms

I have an old  front load ,updraft, 9 cubic feet, propane gas kiln with 4 burners on the bottem.

Would be ^06  bisque to fragile for glazing ? Or 04 would be better?  

Also what would  be your recommendations for temperature ramp since the pieces are very thin and fairly big?

I would really appreciate for your opinions.

Thank you very much! 

I would bisque at 06 since its stoneware -I like 08 or porcelain-many here seem to like 04-not sure why?

The main thing is how it will affect your glaze application -meaning what you are use to?Hotter bisque means less glaze uptake lower more glaze uptake on bisque ware.

Go very slow in that updraft for bisquing-all updrafts fire uneven and you will find its hotter on the bottom than the top. 

It will be hard to go slow with 4 burners on low so make sure the work is very dry 1st.

Hi Mark,

Thank you for your quick reply!

I didn't have cones to place in the kiln but I will put it in the glaze firing forsure to see the bottom part temperature of the kiln! Good advice ,thank you!

I used a digital thermocouple to watch the kiln this time. It was also my first test firing with this new kiln.

After I wrote the post here ,I called Laguna clay to ask for recommended bisque temperature for S-965 and they said ^06 as well.

I was doing  the firing yesterday and the firing  took me 13 hours to reach ^06 

I am manually controlling the kiln from the valves and every other hour monitoring it and tried to not exceed the temperature of 100F per hour till 1470

After I reached to 1470 I started to open the valves more (watching the burner flames)  and let the heat rise approx.200 per hour and  soaked 20 min.