Majolica-Like Glaze Decorating At Cone 10

Hello...I have been trying to effect a Majolica-like decoration on white stoneware with a clear over-glaze at cone 10. I have been using cobalt carbonate & cobalt oxide hoping to be able to vary the shade of blue. There isn't any difference in the shading and it appears that carbonate is crazing through the clear over glaze. I am fairly new to pottery...and need some advice. Would I be better off trying to use Mason stains? Ultimately I would like to add other colors to my designs...but right now I am focusing on the blues. Thanks for any direction you can offer!

Hello...I have been trying to effect a Majolica-like decoration on white stoneware with a clear over-glaze at cone 10. I have been using cobalt carbonate & cobalt oxide hoping to be able to vary the shade of blue. There isn't any difference in the shading and it appears that carbonate is crazing through the clear over glaze. I am fairly new to pottery...and need some advice. Would I be better off trying to use Mason stains? Ultimately I would like to add other colors to my designs...but right now I am focusing on the blues. Thanks for any direction you can offer!

Are you firing with gas or electric and is there a reason your working at cone 10. The higher you fire the fewer variations you have in oxides or stains. Since you are new to clay you might consider working at cone 6. You can purchase underglazes premixed to experiment with, they still burn out some at cone 6 but nothing like cone 10, you can usually get a color chart with them that shows the intensity of the under glaze at different temperatures. I work with a Majolica glaze at cone 1, I want my colors to be fairly bright but also have the pieces vitrified for outdoor use. Denice (Wichita, KS)