Does A Classy Wheel Make Better Pots?is It Time For An Upgrade?

I've been throwing for 5 years, some at a tec school and mostly at home on an old home built wheel I bought 2nd hand. It is made of factory components and is 1 hp, I think. I have paid my studio bills and now find myself longing for a new snazzy wheel. The wheel I have has a little bit of a wobble in the head, the pedal isn't very delicate , sort of go , slow or stop. It is NOISY, and I am beginning to wonder about the motor, because I can hear the pitch of the whine drop when I put pressure on it, centering even a small 3lb ball of clay. I does not have a reverse, something I wish for when doing certain things.

I know what I am wishing for and it is EXPENSIVE.

So, will a different wheel , steady quiet, responsive peddle, adjustable height, silent, easy to clean, have any effect on the finished product, or is it just cosmetic and for my pleasure?

Having trouble justifying this purchase, even tho I have paid for an entire studio, building and all equipment so far with sales and am even right now.

Without it, I will begin to make a profit now, with it, it will take 6 months longer to get to that point.

Wat chall think?

Guest JBaymore

You are talking to a forum full of pottery enablers !!

biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

Nice one!

Good tools frequently increase productivity and the quality of the work. But plenty of great pieces have been made over the millennia with less than optimal tools. If you are "fighting the tool"... if there are features you need to get your ideas into concrete form...... then likely a better one will help.

No easy pat answers to this one.

best,

...................john