Rewire An Old 1150 Degree Kiln

littleart

Hi!

Got my first kiln in, its electric and is not capeble of producing stoneware.

Wich is my demand of doing so,...rewire.

And since that my mind is going bunkas.

I am an electrician and my formal work had a lot to do with house heating...so hot air flows up.

I want my 3 fase to be controlled in three fases

First zone below, 2nd mid, third up

Either by 3 kiln controllers or one rahspberry py...

Anyone done this before?

Can i rewire with more resistance or should i put in more wire to spice it up?

Greets from holland where spring sets in.

Nice quote,...

I would make sure the bricks are rated for the temperatures you want to achieve before going any further. I am not 100% sure on what your questions are about the wiring. Could you try and explain a little more?

Not to be rude about being an electrician and your skills but I find electricians are good at wiring things up to power circuits but going further than that into more electronics had all my guys stumped. One completely wired the kiln up wrong having circuits looping back and connecting to themselves, thus making them draw no power. Just my experience, I am sure some out there have great electronics knowledge.

Lots of research ahead  ;)

Hi!

As for them bricks its only 100 degrees more so that is not to mutch i think

As for the wiring now it is devided like the picture but i want to controll the trhee fase power

seperate having 3 thermo couples and relay's

Next thing is i want to spice it up with 100 degrees on fase three below (warmth wil go up)

Dimensions of my kiln in meters (sorry) hight 1m width 0, 5 deep 0, 7

post-65486-0-06257500-1428832698_thumb.jpg

Hi!

The diagram is how its wired now for the heating elements there arnt any thermo couples now and there are no relays.

So it is partly my wish of better controll.

So testing it with one relay and more heating elements would be the first thing not a lot of work see how them stones handle?